17th Week Of 2017

We awoke this morning to a frigid 58 degree temperature in the house. It’s windy and cold and yucky outside. If there is anything that messes with my mood, it is boys peeing on the bathroom floor and bipolar weather.

We did a lot of running around the past week.  Monday we went and made some oil goodies with church friends. It was a lovely time of fellowship and the weather was gorgeous.

I fertilized the strawberries again because they were looking a little down. The rain coming tonight and tomorrow will be exactly what the garden needs to kick everyone into gear.

I went by my friend Ruth and dug up some Bee Balm, Echinacea, Hostas, Lambs Ear and Lily of the Valley.  They are planted in various spots of the property now .  The south garden bed that was once all lilacs is a mess. The lilacs were infested with bugs and died.  Fortunately, lots of shoots sprung up, so Doug will be cutting down the old bushes for me and I’ll replant the shoots in a lovely arrangement with more Lily of the Valley.

Allergies are starting and they show up as swelling on my face. Today I’ve begun applying Frankincense to help.  It is so soothing.  Next week my order arrives and I can’t wait to dig into it.  I’m already out of lavender and am desperate for a new bottle.

Bethel has moved to the rented pasture during the day and into our pasture with Jasmine at night. Of course, with the yucky weather, our pampered princesses got to move indoors today.

On calmer mornings, I’ve been milking in the pasture and it’s beautiful. I tie Bethy to a tree and then milk and watch.  Jasmine always has to be to close to her, so she stands a few feet behind us munching on grass.  The chickens and ducks soon arrive to eat up the last of the grain that Jasmine drops on the ground  from her breakfast.  Harley shows up to lay among the chickens and pretend like he’s on sentry duty.  And there’s always a cat, either rubbing it’s way around me, or throwing a dead mouse in the air, playing with it.  The sun is slowly rising, the air is quiet, and the horizon feels as if it goes on forever.

Truly magical

Thats all for this week. Blessings!

IMG_0664IMG_0666IMG_0671IMG_0676IMG_0683IMG_0699IMG_0708IMG_0717

Leave a Reply

