Homesteading Is Expensive

Homesteading is expensive.

And we scrounge and save and use what we have, buy something new only when necessary.  We have a junk pile of random materials that we have on hand to use for future projects if the need comes up.  Our latest, was a hay rack that Doug made out of a crib.  It saved at the minimum $200.00.

But let me be clear.  Homesteading is not a lifestyle for saving money.  We don’t have a milk cow because it’s cheaper than Walmart milk.  We don’t buy beef from the farmer down the street because it’s cheaper than Berkots big meat sale.  We don’t raise chicken and butcher them ourselves because it’s cheaper than Aldi.  Same goes for the hogs. The only exception really, is the garden.  The garden saves money. But it is a lot of hard work.  And when I think of the work that goes into canning a jar of tomatoes, in comparison to buying one from Aldi for 1.00, the work payoff just doesn’t seem worth it to some. But it’s such good work and it provides the best food for my family.  I will repeat that-

Its such good work.

It provides the best, most health food for my family

So all that said, it’s expensive.

I dream of real fencing, pretty fencing. Doug dreams of more land and more pigs!  I dream of growing all of our plants from seed with a gorgeous grow light system.  Doug dreams of a batting cage on his new land. (Not Homestead related, but cute).

We are at the point now where we are trading dollars for hours, and the hours are running out.  We are faced with two options, use hours that are already being occupied with necessary tasks, or increase our income with a minimum number of hours being consumed.

And this is where Doterra comes into our family. I have experimented with many other MLM companies, but each time, I was either lacking the gumption to start the business, or I was lacking the leadership to begin. The team I have over me with Doterra is brilliant.  And my drive to begin a business is now stronger than ever.

People hear MLM and they cringe.  I used to, until I understood what network marketing was truthfully about. I’ve learned it’s like a franchise business, without the need of high capital, without the burden of loans and so on. It’s like opening a health food store. The cost to rent the building, buy your stock, hire marketing and so on would be more than most people can afford. But let’s pretend that you were able to. So you have your health food store, but you hope to someday hire the right people, so you have more time for other adventures. Most business owners after many years, can live comfortably on the residual income the business is providing, with minimal time and work put into it. Why?  Because they’ve hired and trained an excellent team to handle the business for them. Perhaps the team are sales employees, management, marketing and the list goes on.  This is the same idea with Doterra, except those employees are all owning their own franchises of the business as well!

If you were looking for a job, and you went to an interview and the manager said to you “I need you to work for 1 year. In that year I will need at least 20 hours from you a week, all your creativity and all your passion.  And at the end of the year, you don’t have to work anymore, and I’ll still pay your salary.”  I think we would all say yes!

That is what Doterra asked me, and I said yes! Yes! Yes!

Part of my homemaking education has been learning different ways of natural healing. I discovered essential oils 4 years ago and we have used them often on the homestead, and in the home. But never high quality oils.  I always used the cheaper ones, and I’ll tell you, we never got the best results. I’ll keep you all updated on how things go with the Doterra oils because they are one of the purest forms of oils in the market.  I have already seen the difference in a product called Terrashield. (More on that later)

In addition to continuing my education on natural health for the family and homestead I am also adding in business training.  Oh how I love learning!!!  It’s so good!  It’s such a wonderful gift to be at home and to have the time and energy to learn these wonderful things!

In the garden- I planted 2 types of cabbages, broccoli and cauliflower.  These were seedlings because the birds kept eating all of my seeds I put out. (Hence why I am dreaming of a grow light system). Today Tori and I will put in spinach, iceberg and romaine. Soon, we will be transplanting the tomatoes in the garden and everyone will say “No! It’s too early!”

I wink and say “Not if they’re in their own mini greenhouses.” I have been saving and hoarding plastic bottles just for this day!  The peppers will go out this way as well. Yay!!!!

Doug is on vacation next week, and oh the projects we have planned.

I have nothing to report in the kitchen, except for baking fails. A chess pie with chocolate chips that was so sweet it made you sick. And a peanut pie that was terribly bland. I love new recipes, but I love them more when they turn out well

Blessings  from the homestead!

IMG_0377IMG_0381IMG_0385IMG_0386IMG_0388IMG_0392IMG_0393IMG_0390

 

Leave a Reply

