Spring 2017

IMG_0269IMG_0268IMG_0262IMG_0255IMG_0254IMG_0249IMG_0274IMG_0216IMG_0242IMG_0240IMG_0241I can’t believe that spring is here already. It has been three years since we’ve moved here and already I’ve lost the enthusiasm for a new season!

The week was a busy one, with today being the most productive, thanks to the beautiful weather. In the kitchen, we tried homemade gyros this week. Unfortunately, they were all beef (lamb is frighteningly expensive), but still good. Tori and I made homemade pitas to go with them, and anything bread related is always delicious.

It is official- I am in love with meringue. I was always terrified to make it for some reason.  While laid out on the couch for three days with some wretched cold/flu, I watched The French Cook episodes which always gets my kitchen motivation juices going. So meringue became the new project and it was divine!  So beautiful too!

The garden fence went up today and I planted peas, cabbage, lettuce, spinach and carrots. The carrots are always so tricky, yet I have hope that this will be the year!!!! The strawberry seedlings have sprouted but have been very slow growing. Tomatoes, peppers, broccoli and cauliflower sprouted as well, but they’re very leggy and I don’t know how they will turn out.

I’ve named the coyote Samantha. She’s been back to visit twice this week, not for a meal, just to stalk. As I stand in the yard gazing at her a hundred feet away, I can’t help but feel like Kevin Costner in Dances With Wolves.  It’s definitely a moment.

And then Katie comes and chases her off.

I spring cleaned in the barn today, stripping Bethels stall, making spiderweb cotton candy rolls on the broom, and finally gave it all a good sweep.  The ducklings went from the bathroom out to the barn. Momma hen has been excellent with her babies. They all ventured out today for their first outdoor excursion. Is there anything cuter than seeing little baby chicks following their mom around. (Heart eyes!)

That about sums up the week.  More planting, more chickens coming this year, more piggies.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

