Doing all things unto Him

The children were home from school the past week. It was wonderful having them here again with me. My favorite part was my outings with Tori. I miss them. We went everywhere together before, and it was nice to have a small piece of it again this week.

I tried a new recipe this week and it was excellent!  Baked Oatmeal.  It is going to be a regular in our house from now on!

3 cups oats

1 t baking powder

pinch salt

2 T brown sugar

1/2 t cinnamon

1 cup sugar ( more of you like it sweeter)

1/2 cup oil

2 eggs

1 cup milk

Bake 350 degrees for 35-40 mins

You could make this the night before and pop it in in the morning. I added the last jar of our apple pie filling to the bottom of the dish, then added the oatmeal mix on top. Scrumptious!

Doug is on vacation this week- my heart leaps. This is my favorite of his vacations because of the weather. We get to work together and spend time together. He makes me laugh like no one else can. We began his vacation on Saturday with a trip to the local nursery. I acquired all of our herbs, including chamomile and st johns wort, Bergamot and lemon balm. We planted English lavender in the front yard and what a blessing it will be when it begins to bloom. I can’t wait!

I am so thankful for Gods sovereignty over our lives.  I can’t make a mistake without Him.  And if my plans don’t line up with His, he just takes care of it.  I trust Him so much more than I trust myself.  He is so good, and perfect and lovely.  He knows all and is all.  How could I not find perfect peace and rest in that?  So daily, I celebrate surrendering this life to Him.  It’s such a joy.  You cannot live the farming/ homesteading life without this surrender.  He controls it all- the clouds, the wind, the rain, the rumbles, the life of all and the death of each piece.  They are all in His hands.  And so, our plans were to raise two hogs this year- this was not His plan.  Our friend whom we get the hogs from, is extremely short on litters this year.  The gals have had a hard time getting pregnant, and he’s only had 2 litters so far.

The Lord is in control of all life, even the creation of it in a womb.  So I look up to Him, and I trust Him.

No pigs for us, at least not right now.  After settling my mind on this, the truth of the matter is, we shouldn’t be raising hogs this year.  I really want to focus on getting us out of debt, and raising hogs would have put us more in debt.  It’s wiser to just buy a hog from the farmer or butcher, at this point, it is more frugal.

So….Doug and I decided that the ol pig pen spot was going to become our orchard.  I had already planted a plum tree and a cherry tree in the vicinity.  We planted another cherry tree we got on our date and will continue adding on.  Doug is most excited about a Paw Paw tree.  (????????)  I’m afraid it won’t grow here, but I love seeing Doug get excited about things.  He’s so adorable and funny.

And one more thing!

I love when the Lord shows me a new way to clean, ways to make it more enjoyable.  He popped a Facebook page in front of me, and it had a gal that made her own Clorox wipes.  I love Clorox wipes.  They make cleaning the bathrooms and the kitchen so much easier.  But since we’ve moved to the farm, Clorox wipes have been removed from the budget.  This young lady  cut a roll of paper towels in half, then placed it in a container.  She used rubbing alcohol and some other things.  I mixed up my normal cleaning solution- water, vinegar and a few drops of essential oil.  I poured this over the paper towels and let it set.  It is so much easier to clean the bathroom now, and so much more enjoyable.  I want to do all things joyfully into Him- even cleaning toilets.

imageimageimageimageimageimage

 

Leave a Reply

